30 diciembre 2010

Alan Lomax Collection:Deep River of Song: Mississippi: The Blues Lineage, (1999)

Mississippi: The Blues Lineage: Mississippi, more than any other state, is associated with the most creative developments and most intense expressions of the blues. Here are some of the state's finest bluesmen -- the legendary Son House, Muddy Waters, and Honeyboy Edwards - as well as the equally impressive work of Lucious Curtis, Willie Ford, Frank Evans, and William Brown. Recorded on location in the late 1930s and early 1940s by the Lomaxes and their associates, these great blues point both to the roots of this music in African-American folk expression and to its future development and influence on popular music.

Deep River of Song: These field recordings of African-American music made by Alan and John A. Lomax for the Library of Congress from 1933 to 1946 capture a transformative period when black singers of the South and the Caribbean created a new musical language and thousands of brilliant songs that would captivate people throughout the world.

The Alan Lomax Collection gathers together the American, European, and Caribbean field recordings, world music compilations, and ballad operas of writer, folklorist, and ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax.

Deep River of Song: Mississippi: The Blues Lineage has 16 tracks:

1 Ragged and Dirty - William Brown 05:13 N/A
2 Mississippi Blues - William Brown 06:30 N/A
3 County Farm Blues - Eddie "Son" House 02:22 N/A
4 High-Rolling Sergeant - Sam Carter, Jim Mickles, Eddie Miles, Jack Rogers 01:52 N/A
5 Early in the Morning - Hollis "Fat Head" Washington 02:24 N/A
6 The Jinx Blues (No. 2) - Eddie "Son" House 04:15 N/A
7 I Be Bound to Write to You - McKinley Morganfield ("Muddy Waters") 02:46 N/A
8 You Gonna Miss Me When I'm Gone - McKinley Morganfield ("Muddy Waters") 03:39 N/A
9 Wind Howlin' Blues - David "Honeyboy" Edwards 03:15 N/A
10 High Lonesome Hill - Lucious Curtis, Willie Ford 05:02 N/A
11 Payday - Willie Ford, Lucious Curtis 02:35 N/A
12 Train Blues - Lucious Curtis 01:44 N/A
13 Santa Field Blues - Willie Ford 03:45 N/A
14 Low Down Dirty Dog Blues - Son House 05:03 N/A
15 Red River Blues - Frank Evans 03:17 N/A
16 Walking Blues - Eddie "Son" House, Fiddlin' Joe Martin, Willie Brown, Leroy Williams 06:42 N/A

FUENTE: http://rounder.com//index.php?id=album.php&catalog_id=4972

Realmente este es un disco para escuchar atentamente, espero les guste

0 comentarios:

Powered by Blogger